Make Hurricane Plan A Family Affair

Let me share what I have done. When the tropical wave, from which Dean formed, first started developing well east of the Caribbean, I did what I usually do as we head into the peak of the hurricane season. I got out my hurricane plan which I had already printed out from www.floridadisaster.org and reviewed it with my wife. We then pulled out our bin of hurricane supplies and took inventory. We made sure we had water, food, flashlights, batteries, battery powered radios, car chargers for our cell phones, medicines, extra pet food, and all the other items on our check list.

The official forecast from the National Hurricane Center continues to forecast Dean to move through the Caribbean toward the Yucatan peninsula. Unless something totally unexpected happens, none of us in South Florida will have to execute our hurricane plans for Dean. But I feel good knowing that I have recently reviewed our plan and will not have to rush around trying to purchase things at the last minute. We will still get some additional cash, gas up the cars, and put up our storm shutters when a hurricane threat does develop to South Florida.

And please remember that Dean is not the last hurricane of the 2007 Atlantic hurricane season. It is only the first.

Leave a Reply

