Lights After a Hurricane

One item near the top of your hurricane supply checklist will be lights.  Once the power goes out, you will want to have at least some source of light to see what you are doing.  I’ll talk more about backup power sources later, but for now let’s focus on simple lighting not connected to a generator or portable power station.

 

Most people have an adequate supply of flashlights.  It is important to make sure you have plenty of fresh batteries.  I replaced batteries today in the flashlights that my family keeps in cars and our home as a precaution as we head into the active part of the Atlantic hurricane season.  Today there are a variety of battery operated lamps and lanterns available that can also come in handy if the power is out for an extended period.  Again, make sure you have plenty of fresh batteries on hand.

 

We also have an inexpensive solar powered lantern that we keep in the backyard.  The power of this solar powered light is not particularly strong, but our plan is to use it after a hurricane as a nightlight.

 

In case the power is out for an extended period and we run out of batteries, we have several flashlights that can be powered by handcranking.  Most of these are very inexpensive.  In addition, my son gave me a combination flashlight/radio that is handcranked.  It uses no batteries and is simply cranked for both light and radio.  Supposedly, cranking for one minute will supply 70 minutes of power.  The light in this crank flashlight/radio comes from Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs) which are very efficient although not as bright as other lights.  I keep this on the night stand next to my bed.  Every time I see it, I hope I never have to use it but I have a good feeling knowing it is there just in case.

One thought on “Lights After a Hurricane

  1. I also purchased battery operated fans (they auto turn off after 4 hours of running). After Wilma and 17 days of no electricity I remember how hard it was to sleep, I would wake up every 2 hours and shower trying to cool down.

Leave a Reply

